

**APRIL 5, 2021 | NEWS** 

# Shumaker Announces Firm-Wide Committee Chairs with a Focus on Diversity

TOLEDO, OH – The national law firm of Shumaker has announced its 2021 hiring partners and committee chairs. Shumaker's Management Committee has set firm-wide goals to increase diversity in leadership across the firm. Today's announcement brings the firm closer to meeting those goals.

## **RELATED ATTORNEYS**

Karen H. Stiles Regina M. Joseph Thomas P. Dillon Jason A. Collier Peter R. Silverman Mindi M. Richter Michael J. O'Callaghan Maria del Carmen Ramos Joseph S. Simpson Cheri A. Budzynski Jennifer B. Compton Sharon M. Fulop Christina Davidson Trimmer Meghan O. Serrano Hugo S. "Brad" deBeaubien Zachary P. Madden Michael H. Robbins

#### **MEDIA CONTACT**

Wendy M. Byrne wbyrne@shumaker.com

New committee chairs include Chair of the Business Development and Marketing Committee, Mindi Richter, Co-Chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Cheri Budzynski, Co-Chair of the Finance Committee, Jason Collier, Columbus Hiring Partner, Michael O'Callaghan, Tampa Co-Hiring Partner Kathleen Reres, Toledo Hiring Partner, Zachary Madden, and Professional Recruiting Manager, Heather Zangara.

"We are very proud that when filling our leadership roles, we have such qualified individuals who are also diverse, allowing us to hit our goals of diversity in leadership throughout the firm," said Partner and Management Committee Member Sharon Fulop.

Shumaker is committed to attracting, retaining, and promoting individuals of diverse backgrounds to ensure that the firm reflects the clients represented and their values of inclusion. Lawyers and professionals throughout the firm are involved with and serve on boards of more than 60 organizations focused on embracing differences in ethnicity, race, sexual orientation, age, socio-economic status, religion, and other characteristics.

"Shumaker is committed to creating an inclusive work environment that supports the recruitment, retention, and advancement of diverse professionals," said Partner and Diversity Committee Co-Chair Maria del Carmen Ramos. "It is essential to create a workplace that fosters diversity, which helps us better serve our clients' needs."

"Promoting not only diversity, but also inclusion fosters an environment where we can attract the best and

brightest and bring out their greatest strengths. For me, Shumaker's commitment to diversity and inclusion, especially with regard to Women and LGBTQ+ initiatives, creates a workplace where I can thrive and grow," said Partner and Diversity Co-Chair Cheri Budzynski.

Shumaker's Diversity and Inclusion Committee comprises partners, associates, and administrative personnel who are dedicated to establishing and implementing a variety of diversity and inclusion measures to ensure that the Firm meets and exceeds its goals of creating a comfortable working environment that embraces and supports the many differences among all.

Shumaker 2021 Firm Committee Chairs include:

## **Management Committee**

Chair: Thomas P. Dillon

Vice Chair: Jennifer B. Compton

## Alternative/Non Standard Fee Committee

Co-Chair: Jonathan J. Ellis

Co-Chair: Joseph S. Simpson

## **Audit Response Committee**

Chair: Regina M. Joseph

#### **Business Development & Marketing Committee**

Chair: Mindi M. Richter

## **Diversity & Inclusion Committee**

Co-Chair: Cheri A. Budzynski

Co-Chair: Maria C. Ramos

## **Finance Committee**

Co-Chair: Jason A. Collier

Co-Chair: Michael H. Robbins

## **Hiring & Associate Compensation Committee**

Hiring Partner Charleston: J. Bennett Crites, III

Hiring Partner Charlotte: Karen H. Stiles

Hiring Partner Columbus: Michael J. O'Callaghan

Hiring Partner Sarasota: Meghan O. Serrano

Co-Hiring Partner Tampa: H.S. Brad deBeaubien

Co-Hiring Partner Tampa: Kathleen G. Reres

Hiring Partner Toledo: Zachary P. Madden

Manager of Associate Recruitment: Heather L. Zangara

**Innovation Lab Committee** 

Chair: Christina D. Trimmer

**Insurance & Pension Committee** 

Chair: Susan D. McClay

**Ohio Political Action Committee** 

Chair: Peter R. Silverman

